Weekly Challenge: Give yourself a compliment…or two or three!

I hope last week’s challenge of finding the good in those you don’t like was really helpful! I know that for me, it helped me realize that we’re all human, and that we all have both good and bad traits. I’m hoping that the more we focus on the good traits other people have, the happier we’ll be. One person who did the challenge told me about her experience, saying:

 

“it [finding good things in people you don’t get along with] was something I’ve been working on for a while but having it as the weekly challenge put it in the front of my mind. It’s something that’s hard to do but for me, it helps get rid of my anger towards that person and therefore makes me a happier person.”

 

Since the last two weekly challenges have been focused on other people, I thought this week’s challenge should be all about YOU.

If someone were to walk down the street on any given day and listen in on a conversation between two girls, chances are in very little time they would hear those girls talk about something they don’t like about themselves. Whether it be that our thighs are too big, we’re not funny enough, or our grades are bad because we’re not smart, girls are much quicker to criticize themselves than to say anything good.

Yet at the same time, I’ve noticed that the minute a girl says something she likes about herself, other girls are quick to call her arrogant, full of herself, or just annoying. Why is self-deprecation praised, yet one sign of self-approval causes gossip?

Modesty is important, don’t get me wrong- In order to move forward and improve oneself, a person must be aware of their imperfections and flaws. But at the same time, there’s nothing wrong with people liking themselves as well – in fact, it’s healthier to have a balance between improvement and self-acceptance.

I think it’s about time we establish a middle ground, which is what I’m trying to do with this week’s challenge. Write down a list of things that you like about yourself, and keep it in the back of your mind for those moments you’re feeling down in the dumps. I know that for me, in those moments when I’m feeling bad about myself it’s easy to dismiss the good thoughts I’ve had in the past. That’s why I think it would be more effective to write the list down- by materializing positive thoughts it’s harder to simply ignore them.

It took me over fifteen years to finally feel confident and good about myself, but even now I still have my days where I can’t seem to do anything right. What helps me get through it all is focusing on the good traits I have rather than the bad. I hope this weekly challenge will help you to do the same, because everybody deserves the kind of happiness and confidence that can get them through good and back times. Good luck this week! Send me your list on gmail, facebook, twitter, or in the comments below, I’d love to see them! 

Image

 

Leave a Reply

