Wednesday’s Woman of the Week: Jennifer Lawrence

This Wednesday’s Woman of the Week is Jennifer Lawrence for her active engagement in being a positive role model for young girls. Not only is she a great actress (I know everyone’s seen The Hunger Games, but Winter’s Bone, her first major role, is also a fantastic movie), but she refuses to give into the stereotype of women in films. She got a lot of criticism from various magazines during The Hunger Games that her character wasn’t skinny enough, because Katniss is supposed to be a starved girl from district 12. Along with pointing out that Liam Hemsworth’s character Gale never received the same criticism, Jennifer Lawrence explained why she didn’t starve herself for this role:

“I don’t want little girls to be like, ‘Oh, I want to look like Katniss, so I’m going to skip dinner.’ That’s something I was really conscious of during training, when you’re trying to get your body to look exactly right. I was trying to get my body to look fit and strong- not thin and underfed.”

She’s stated in numerous interviews that she remembers girls skipping lunch in middle school because they wanted to look like Lindsay Lohan, Nicole Richie, and Paris Hilton, and that she never wants girls to feel like that when looking at her.

 

Not only does she have a great stance on body image, she also has a great, down-to-earth personality. Her photoshoots for magazines may appear to be the typical, sexualized picture that goes alongside a woman who doesn’t really have a personality. But after reading even just one of her interviews it’s evident that she’s different from most celebrities and very relatable. She’s not super girly and dainty, but rather she speaks her mind and isn’t afraid to be herself. Examples of the things she talks about in interviews:

“I should probably get a house but I don’t really know if I do want to live in LA. I don’t like going out that much. I’m kind of an old lady. After 11 p.m., I’m like, ‘Don’t these kids get tired?’ …Every time I’m out, I think about my couch. I’m like, ‘That would be awesome right now—I bet there’s a new episode of ‘Dance Moms’ on [or] a new episode of ‘Keeping Up With the Kardashians’ that I’m missing.” – Interview with The Inquirer September 2012

“[My boyfriend] is honestly my best friend, and hopefully I’m his best friend too. He’s my favorite person to be around and makes me laugh harder than anybody…We can eat Cheetos and watch beach volleyball and we turn into two perverted Homer Simpsons, like, ‘Oh, she’s got a nice ass.’ I never thought we’d have such different opinions on asses.” – Interview with Elle December 2012

Jennifer Lawrence is comfortable in her own skin, and not afraid to admit that she’s different from most 22 year olds. She’s a true girl in real life, and for that she deserves all the fortune and fame coming her way. Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

