Happy Birthday Mom! (Article)

Today’s my mom’s birthday, so I’m dedicating this post to her, as our first inspiring woman of this blog!

I love you mom! (Personal picture)

My mom has honestly done more for me than I could’ve ever asked for in life, and I’m so lucky to have her to look up to. She taught me to respect myself, and to stand up for myself when others disrespect me. But at the same time, she taught me to have compassion towards others and to look at them without judgment. She has a phrase she always says, “everyone’s doing the best they can with what they know. It may not always be right, but it’s all they have”. This has helped me to understand and forgive the people who have hurt me in the past, and it’s taught me to look at life through a completely different set of eyes, allowing me to understand people a lot better.

Most importantly, my mom has taught me to enjoy the little things in life, and to take a step back and realize how lucky I am when things seems to be hard. No matter how bad her day has been, when she comes home she manages to be happy simply by reading a good book before bed, or by watching a storm outside while drinking a glass of wine. Looking to her as an example for my own life has made me a happier and more loving person.

She is a truly amazing woman. Even though I’m oftentimes selfish, stubborn, annoying, and just plain wrong, she always supports me and lets me know that she loves me.

And so now I want to let her know how much I support and love her too. Thank you so much for everything mom, and I hope that you have a wonderful birthday, because you truly deserve it.

I swear she wears curlers more than anybody else I’ve met, but I love it!

2 thoughts on “Happy Birthday Mom! (Article)

Leave a Reply

