Hello world!

Welcome to my new blog, Girls In Real Life! To get more information on what exactly this is, go to the “About” section and also read below ☺

Through this organization, Girls In Real Life, I hope to eventually start a movement. A movement where girls help bring each other up instead of beating each other down. Growing up as a girl in our society is hard enough as it is, with pressures weighing down on us from everywhere. The worst part about all of this is that girls are often the ones putting extreme pressure on other girls. This is simply not acceptable, and something needs to change.

The focus of a girl’s life should be to be happy and healthy, supporting other girls along the way. My own past actions and alterations to my appearance have oftentimes been based on what I think will please other girls around me, instead of on what I want to do for myself. I don’t want anyone else to have to go through that. I don’t want any girl putting makeup on in the morning because she thinks other girls won’t see her as pretty otherwise. I don’t want any girl participating in a mean-hearted conversation about someone else in the fear that if she doesn’t, everyone will turn on her. I don’t want us to live out of fear of criticism and ridicule. Instead, I want girls to learn to live life for themselves. To forget about others’ expectations and to simply live the life they want to lead.
Because scrutiny from others is often the reason girls don’t speak up, I have only one rule on both the blog and in the classroom: ANY type of bad mouthing about other girls will not be tolerated whatsoever. I will delete any comment on here saying nasty things about other girls, because honestly there are better ways to spend your time than putting others down, and it doesn’t do anybody any good. I’m more than open to comments, as long as they move this movement forward!

The club that’s starting in Madison will take place Monday afternoons, but blog posts will likely be sporadic and occur whenever I feel there’s something important to say ☺ If any of you have suggestions on how to improve this blog, topics I should talk about, or your own stories you want to share, I would love hearing those ideas more than anything in the world!

Thank you so much for taking the time to read this, and I hope that as this organization continues both you and I learn a lot along the way!

Leave a Reply

